Recognition and awards

Snapshots from our businesses Penguin Group

Penguin Group

Publisher of the Year Penguin Australia and Penguin Canada were named Publisher of the Year 2008 at the Australian Book Industry Awards and the Canadian Booksellers' Assosciation respectively.

New Media Age (NMA) Effectiveness Awards Penguin's Blog A Penguin Classic won in the Entertainment category for 2008, while Penguin's teen website Spinebreakers received a commendation in the Special Award for Innovation category.

Costa Book Awards Penguin author Sebastian Barry's The Secret Scripture won the Novel of the Year and Book of the Year 2008 at the Costa Book Awards.

Pulitzer Prize Riverhead imprint author Junot Diaz won the 2008 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction with his title The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao.